The Bukhara Province has a population of 1,384,700, about 68% of whom live in the rural areas, while the other 32% live in urban centers. The Province is divided into 11 administrative districts, and the province’s administrative center is the city of Bukhara, which has a population of 263,400. Other towns in the Province are Alat, Karakol, Galasiya, Gazly, Gidjduvan, Kagan, Romitan, Shavirkan and Vabkent.

The administrative center of the Province is the city of Samarkand, with a population of 368,000. Other important towns are Bulungur, Djuma, Ishtikhon, Kattaqurgan, Urgut, and Aktash.

The Republic of Karakalpakistan is situated in the north-western part of Uzbekistan. It occupies the area from the western part of the Kizil-Kum Desert to the Amu-Darya river delta. The Republic’s total area covers 165,600 square kilometers. The climate is typically continental, with very hot summers and cold winters without snow. The population of Karakalpakistan is 1.4 million, mainly Uzbek (32.8%) and Karakalpak (32.1%). About 48% of the population lives in rural areas, while the other 52% live in towns. The Republic is divided into 15 administrative districts, 12 towns and 16 villages, and its administrative center is Nukus which has a population of 236,700. Other significant towns are Beruny, Buston, Khodjeily, Kungrad, Muynaq, Takhiatash, Turtkul, and Chimbad.